Back to Blog

ATech's MD named CQU Alumnus of the Year for Industry Excellence

Published: March 01, 2024
Sarah-Jane Peterschlingmann ATech

ATech’s owner and Managing Director Sarah-Jane Peterschlingmann has been announced as CQUniversity 2024 Alumnus of the Year for Industry Excellence. 

CQUniversity’s annual Alumni Awards acknowledge and celebrate the achievements its alumni are making in their professional field or community service activities. Their accomplishments benefit both society and the University, advancing the common good and inspiring others. 

Ms Peterschlingmann is an entrepreneur, investor, business adviser and a featured author of the bestseller “Wholehearted Leadership Revolution”. She is an advocate for women in technology and entrepreneurship, and wholehearted leadership. 

Starting out as a web developer in 2007, Ms Peterschlingmann has grown Brisbane-based ATech to become a leading mission-critical cloud hosting and web development company with multimillion dollar revenues. ATech’s impressive list of high calibre clients includes Virgin Australia, Brisbane City Council, Airservices Australia and Seqwater.

Sarah-Jane Peterschlingmann moved from her hometown of Cairns to Rockhampton at 18, to follow her passion for technology.

“I didn’t have a grade 10 or 12 certificate, so it was quite a challenge to get into uni in the first place, but I was lucky that CQU had a great advocate for women in tech, Judith Wooller,” she explained.

Through the Women in Science and Technology pathway, Ms Peterschlingmann thrived in CQU’s Bachelor of Information Technology, and started her company ATech, just two years after graduating in 2005. 

“That training and knowledge that I got at CQUniversity was really quite a few steps ahead of industry, so I really learned to rely on my own skills,” she said.

“When I started, I didn’t think I was going to make a multi-million dollar cloud hosting company, I was just solving problems for people and doing what I loved!

“I am thrilled to be named CQUniversity 2024 Alumnus of the Year for Industry Excellence. It is such an honour to join the ranks of previous CQU Alumni Award winners including Bevan Slattery and Jason Titman."

CQUniversity has announced four inspiring recipients of its 2024 Alumni Awards. Read more details here.

CQUniversity Vice-Chancellor and President, Professor Nick Klomp, paid tribute to the recipients. 

“CQUniversity takes great pride in the achievements of our alumni, as they advance the common good and challenge us all to grow our impact,” he said.

“It is particularly rewarding to see the accomplishments of our four Alumni Awards recipients in the fields of human rights, sustainability and inclusion, and to know that their CQUniversity education helped set them on their trailblazing paths.” 

CQUniversity has more than 130,000 alumni around the world.

You might also like

Back to Blog
Contact - an illustration of a device surrounded by a loudspeaker and five stars

Like what you see?

Tell us about your project and we'll help you get started.

Get started
Back to top